Week #2 – Dear Diary

Take an hour a day to journal, reflect on your day/life/mood/current situation, etc. Introspect your little heart out!

 

What can I say about this little guy? I chose it at random, and the first thing I thought was “At least I didn’t pick the ‘ecofriendly-ride-your-bike-everywhere‘ one”. I have a 200+ mile drive to make tomorrow, and a trip to Omaha and back on Wednesday and ‘everywhere’ means ‘everywhere’. I’m balls-to-the-wall hardcore about it.

 

Journaling. Okay. This is as good a time as any to take on this task. You could say that my day/life/mood/current situation is journal-worthy. My grandmother is in the hospital right now, and it isn’t looking good. I’m trying to figure out what I’m doing with my life (but honestly, who isn’t?). My relationship with my father, for the first time ever, is significantly strained, as is my relationship with God. Being back home for the summer makes me feel like I’m in high school again, which, by the way, is not a good feeling. No, not at all. Memories that I’ve worked hard to bury are rising again to the surface.

 

But I don’t want to get all melodramatic; there are good and lovely goings-on in my life: I’ve learned to make pita bread, from scratch and it is life-changingly delicious. I’m regaining the weight I lost last semester, I’m healthy, I’m loved, I’m safe, I’m raking in the dinero, and, most importantly, when I wake up I know that everyday is another opportunity to make new friends and experience new things. There’s nothing greater than this.

 

So yeah, I’ve got goodies to write about. Maybe I’ll post it here, maybe not. Either way, it’ll be a much needed catharsis. I have a habit of keeping all of my emotions and aches and pains bottled up inside, an attempt at stoicism. In the long run, it ends up doing more harm than good.

 

That’s all I’ve got, my lovelies.

 

 

– Camry

 

Leave a Reply

