Week 3: Fin! And Voila!

Things I learned this week:

  1. I’m a workaholic and I need to sit it down before I wind up dead. I got home from work last night and I passed out *on* my laptop, with the screen open and everything.
  2. I’m actually a 65 year old woman. I must be, there’s no other reason why a “21 year old” would prefer sewing and baking cookies to going out and getting sloppy-ass drunk. Also, my vernacular includes the phrases “bless his/her heart”, “gracious me!” “kids these days…” and “cheese and crackers!” (in lieu of ‘Jesus Christ’) and I have an old-lady-purse/black hole of doom. So that’s that. Now get off my lawn.
  3. Chipotle laces their food with crack. But I’m not complaining.
  4. My friends and I are going to open up a 24-hour Chinese food restaurant called “Bubba’s Burgers“. It’ll be the best thing ever, just you wait….
  5. I’m learning how to shrug things off. Being bold and putting myself out there means that sometimes I’ll get rejected. It’s not the end of the world, I’ll get over it. Sometimes, I just have to ball up and take it like a man, even if I’m not a man.

So I didn’t get to do everything I wanted this week. Sad. But, I think I got a lot out of it regardless. I met new and interesting people, I developed and strengthened the relationships I already had, and I learned a lot, simply because I took the initiative to start conversations and ask questions, even if I had to resort to unusual methods (“I’m a Love Pirate, and I’m here for your booty! ARRRGGGHHH!!!”; “Is your daddy a terrorist? Because you’re the bomb!!!!“. I know, I’m sorry….)

And, I’m beginning to realize that, at least for me, this project doesn’t necessarily have to be life-changingly extreme and chock full of action-packed fun. I’ve been getting a little discouraged because my list seems a little dull, which makes me think that I’m a dull person. Hell, maybe I am. Or maybe I’m just a person who finds immense joy in the smaller, simpler things of life. Either way, it’s my body, I’ll do what I want.

Aaaaaand, Pictures!

This is the dress I made Saturday night instead of conquering my karaoke fears. It’s made entirely out of an XL t-shirt (one of the thousands of freebies they give out on campus). The lower skirt is made from the body of the shirt, the bust is made out of the sleeves, and the straps are comprised of the remaining scraps.
My Babygirl!

The total cost for the entire dress was 2 bucks for the thread. I didn’t use a pattern, so it’s far from perfect, but given that it’s my first solo project, it’s pretty ballin’.

Money Shot?

Wheeeee!

Leave a Reply

