Prone to Wander

I started this list because I felt restless.  I wonder if it was due to some unknown void in my life, or because I’ve been working at a coffee shop for 5 months now and I consume ungodly amounts of caffeine.  Perhaps both.

I can’t sleep because my hair smells like weed (I wasn’t smoking, for what it’s worth), my nearly-deaf downstairs neighbor is watching TV at odd hours of the night, as usual, there’s a frat party across the street from my house, I’ve had too much coffee, I’ve got a paper to write, and a muffin to eat.

I miss journaling/blogging.  Haven’t done it in a while, for whatever reason.  I think I should do it more often; perhaps it will help me organize my thoughts.  I think I’ve gone crazy.   In all of my conversations, I sound erratic, irrational, and spastic.  My thoughts jump from here to there with no rhyme or reason, and through it all, I find myself thinking, “What the hell am I saying?”, as I’m sure whoever I’m interacting with is thinking too.

Oh, there are so many things going on in my head right now.   I think the only way to organize them is to make a list.  I love lists, by the way.   They are God’s gift to the addle-brained people of the world, like myself.

Things I Realized Tonight:

– I do not like Latin dancing.
– I like to dance, but not with people
– I can only flirt with people that I’m not really attracted to.  If I find myself in a situation with someone that I like, I get a sudden attack of The Dumb and generally end up behaving in a not-so-cute manner.
– Working in retail/food service brings out the inner misanthrope in me.
– Alcohol is overrated, but is a necessary evil for some.
– Our culture has an unhealthy admiration for the mullet.
– I’ve had more than my fair share of cockblocks.
– Telling my (white) friend that sociology class makes me hate white people was probably a misguided decision.
– Pragmatism is refreshingly sexy.

That’s all I’ve got, mios.  I’ll start the list up again soon, but for now I’m using this blog as a landfill for all the random goop in my head.

The end.

Leave a Reply

