Get Lost

Go exploring! Drive one day, then bike, then use the bus, then walk…Just wander around and see what you find (or what finds you).
I find this week’s challenge to be quite fitting. I feel very lost right now. Ridiculous mood swings, thoughts of hopelessness, you know, all that general existential angst that we 20-somethings go through. Nothing special.
Right now, I don’t know who I am. Or, to be more precise, I’m beginning to figure out that who I am is not who I want to be. These days, I just sit at the computer and browse randomly or play banal games. That’s what’s probably rotting my brain.
Well, today I’m going exploring. I’m back home in Kansas right now and the weather’s not so bad, so I think I’ll head out downtown tonight and do some wandering. If gas prices weren’t so high, I’d jump in my car and drive across the state to Mt. Sunflower, at the Colorado border. It is my Mecca of sorts. I plan to go there before I leave the country, if I ever do.
Do you know what I realized today? I hate Spanish. I’ve been learning it since I was 8, and I’ve planned my entire life around it. It’s a nice language, but do I really want to spend the next two years in South America? Do I? I’m a lazy mofo sometimes.
Anyway, I’m off to shower and wander. I’m expecting wonderful things.
Leave a Reply

