De Profundis Fiat Lux

Winter is not a good time for exploring.

I found a few things: a man in a wheelchair who was missing a leg; a chocolate store that sells Orange Blossom Honey chocolates, which are absolutely divine.

But mostly nothing.

I’d go out tomorrow, but all of my exploring endeavors have been put on hold indefinitely.  Someone broke into my trunk this week and stole my keyboard (piano, not computer), so I am in mourning  I’ve had that thing since I was 14 years old, and now it’s probably…well, who knows.  I feel like a piece of my soul is gone.

On the bright side, whoever broke into my car also managed to unjam my CD player, so that’s a plus.   I’m so damn optimistic, sometimes it makes me sick.

I’m a very “glass-half-full” kind of person, even if there’s only a drop left in the cup.  I don’t know why.  I wish I knew where this hope came from; I’d bottle it up and sell it on late-night infomercials.    There’s no reason to have such hope.  This world is a terrible place, filled with terrible people, and yet, I still believe that, no matter what happens, despite the wars and diseases and tyranny that surround us, everything will turn out okay.

I am either painfully naive or hopelessly delusional.  Either way, it helps me get from day to day, so it can’t be all that bad.

Speaking of naivety, I found this great side-comment from Metafilter:

** Refusing to grow up by maintaining your sense of wonder and following your dreams is ok with me. Refusing to grow up by pretending that your adult responsibilities and commitments don’t exist is annoying. There are more nuances that I don’t have words for, but please don’t think I’m dismissing all potential meanings of “refusing to grow up” as bad. **

I’ll let it speak for itself.

Leave a Reply

